November 21, 2011

As Usual

I am the most cynical in the bunch.

As my test draws ever closer, I am convinced that I am going to fail. My friends/coworkers, on the other hand, are full of positivities such as "of course you'll pass!" and "you're going to do great!"

Then again, it would be kind of rude of them to say, "well obviously you're going to fail."

So I guess I will remain the shoulder-devil* to keep myself from getting over-confident (which isn't really a serious risk at this point, but still).


*There is a previous entry about my relationship with Shoulder Devil, if you care to scroll back and find it.

November 15, 2011

Basic Math

12 hour Tuesday + practice tests = fugeddaboutit


November 12, 2011

Are we there yet?

And finally, a real post. I've been trying to study all day, but I've gotten to the point where my head hurts and my eyes hurt and I don't really give a shit (which probably means I shouldn't be staring at a computer screen, but I digress)

I don't work Fridays, but lately I've been going into the office to study (when I stay home I get too distracted). A college friend was passing through LA, so I met up with her during our lunch break.

This friend and I are of a similar breed. We worked hard in college and got good, (reasonably) well-paying jobs immediately after. We talked about how it was nice to make money and have jobs when so many people don't. We acknowledged that there are many college grads that would love to be in our position.

And then we both admitted that working life isn't all we thought it would be. Now that we're 6 months into real life, we've hit the "is this it?" rut. It's lonlier and more tiring than we imagined it would be. When we fantasized about the glamorous working world, we left out little details such as sitting in traffic, coming home to an empty (and sometimes messy) apartment, and having to figure out what to eat.

Unlike college, real life has no orientation. You are not handed a pamphlet filled with clubs to join, and your neighbors won't knock on your door wanting to hang out (or ever introduce themselves, for that matter). Social plans are hard to come by and take a lot of effort and advanced planning (making Saturday plans on Tuesday? What happened to making saturday plans on saturday, like 2 hours before?) And on weeknight - forget it. After 11 hours of work, socializing does not sound like fun.

Another concept, one that only working people understand: working people do not get to choose how they spend their time. In college, you get breaks between classes, and you get to study as much or as little as you want. If you need a break, take it. At work, if you need a break, you buy a coffee and keep working. You don't have the option to not work at work. Every day is a long day.

I'm fairly certain that we are still in transit. Working life is different, but I suspect that our real problem is that our social lives haven't had a chance to catch up with our professional lives. All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

November 9, 2011

November 1, 2011

Google-Bots Strike again

Yes, I should be studying, but my brain informed me that it is closed for the night and will not allow any more information to be shoved into it. So naturally, I googled 'best photo ever taken,' and get this: This is how everyone bathes, isn't it? Time for a bath of my own (ie shower), and then bed.

October 31, 2011

HI


First order of business - Happy Halloween! (I googled 'Happy Halloween' and the computer-bots found me this picture).

Tonight I dressed up as a girl in sweat pants studying for the CPA exam after a long day at work. I'd say it was a very authentic-looking costume.

Tomorrow is November! A tip to the gentlemen: Don't not shave. Thanks.

October 30, 2011

An Easy How-To Guide

Ten Steps to be Crazy-Efficient (emphasis on the crazy)

I made the executive decision that I needed more study time at night, so I pushed my start time at work up to 7am. That's right folks, when you are probably still asleep, I'm already working on my spreadsheets.

Anyways, I didn't really want to compromise my 6:30 wake up time, so I decided that instead I would become crazy-efficient. Here are the steps:

1. Pick out all your outfits for the week on Sunday*. Yes, I currently have all my outfits and shooz lined up in my closet, so when that zombie-me reaches into the closet in the morning darkenss, no fashion mistakes will be made.

2. Live really really ridiculously close to work. It eliminates the variable of traffic. After work is another story, but let's not get into that because it puts me in a bad mood.

3. In the morning. Wake up, wash face.

4. While face is drying, eat vitamins.

5. While chewing vitamins, put on face lotion.

6. While face lotion is drying, and vitamins are done being chewed, brush teeth.

7. ESSENTIAL STEP: Brushing your teeth only requires one hand, so while one hand brushes teeth, use the other to make your bed.

8. Get dressed.

9. Grab pre-packed lunch from fridge.

10. Once at work, clock in and pat yourself on the back for getting out the door in 15 minutes, Then eat a tiny bowl of oatmeal at your desk. Then, realize that you are still hungry, and eat 1 or 2 more packets. Then work 10 1/2 hours, come home, study, sleep, repeat.

Hope that was informative. Now back to my studiez.

*This only applies if you work at a place that cares how you dress. If not, less steps for you!